Why Are You So Tired All The Time?

Why are you so tired all the time? You don’t *do* anything…

These thoughts are thought by other people, and sometimes me. It’s true. I’m probably the most judgmental person when it comes to placing judgment on my situation.

But, there are several legitimate reasons why I am so tired all the time.

  1. I don’t sleep. When I do sleep, it is very poor quality sleep. I put myself into a drug-induced near-coma every night. I pass out. I have wild dreams. Invariably, a jolt comes to my leg after about one sleep cycle. From that point on, the rest of the night consists of relaxation techniques and forcing myself into cat naps. I haven’t known a full and peaceful night’s sleep since June 14, 2014.
  2. Medication. I take four prescriptions that all list “may cause drowsiness or dizziness” as the primary side-effect. I take two of these prescriptions three times daily. I take the other two twice daily. As an added bonus if my allergies are bad, and if I want to try to catch an extra elusive 45 minutes of sleep, I may add a Benadryl to the cocktail.

    20170107_155909

  3. And, oh, yeah. The sympathetic nerves in my right leg are constantly firing, sending perpetual “danger” signals to my brain. My right leg has been in a constant state of fight or flight for two and a half years. That alone is exhausting.

Thinking about it all makes me feel tired. Or, maybe, I am just actually very tired.

2 thoughts on “Why Are You So Tired All The Time?

Leave a Reply

