Where Is My Mind?

The sense of self is a curious thing.

We spend our lives building a model of who we think we are. What happens when this model changes without warning? What happens when the things to which we clung, defining ourselves for decades, disappear?

I don’t recognize my body. It looks different; it moves differently. These changes are drastic and can happen from day to day.

“You still have your mind,” they say.

Really? Do I? Many times, I don’t recognize my thoughts.

Maybe it’s the neuron-halting medication, or maybe it’s some form of subconscious self-preservation.

For example, this morning while getting ready to leave for my morning swim at the YMCA, I thought to myself:

“I need more athletic shorts.”

Leave a Reply

