My Blog Process: Thank Goodness for Backdating

It all looks pretty coherent, doesn’t it?

Well, there’s a little computer magic behind these blog posts. I never know how I’m going to feel from one moment to the next so it is almost impossible to find a “normal” rhythm to my life.

The one aspect in my life that stays relatively consistent (apart from CRPS, that is… :-/ ) is swimming. I swim at least four days per week, at least 30 minutes per day.

Most of the time in the water is spent zoning out, trying not to wince, looking at the pretty sparkles, listening to my gasp for a breath followed by a long, constant exhale of bubbles followed by another gasp. Sometimes I like to make trumpet noises with my mouth during my exhale. Sometimes the trumpet noises sound like a pterodactyl.

However, sometimes, there are actual thoughts that enter my mind. Sometimes these thoughts demand further thinking instead of allowing themselves to enter my mind and leave again. I suppose a true zen master might let them go, in order to experience the bubbles, sparkles, and pain. But, having the clarity of mind and ability to think is a rare commodity for me now, so I allow myself.

When I get out of the pool, waiting for my leg to stop shaking, I sometimes open the WordPress app on my phone and start a draft for a new blog entry. Those blog entries are never finished when I start them. I store them up and when I have “good days” I finish one or two, backdating to the date of the original thought. I currently have 9 barely begun posts hibernating in my “drafts” folder.

Even this post has marinated for several months. I made my first notes in December; I’m finally finishing it in March.

So, you see, WordPress provides me the luxury of blog time travel. If only real life worked the same way…

Anyway, that’s how it works, and that’s why new posts will sometimes magically appear in the past.

 

Leave a Reply

