It’s My Anniversary…

Six o’clock came and went this evening, almost without my knowing…

But now, it has officially been three years since my freedom was taken away from me.

It has been three years since I was able to walk without looking like a troll. Three years since I was able to run. Three years since I was able to jump. Three years since I was able to stand without pain. Three years since I was able to sit without pain. Three years since my right leg was my “strong” leg. It has been three years since I slept peacefully through the night. It has been three years of struggling, every second of every day (and night).

For three years, I have been a prison of continual pain, weakness, confusion, frustration, fear, anxiety, and helplessness. Constantly guarding my prison are armies of doctors, lawyers, and the occasional judge. Loving family and friends bring me snacks and news from “the outside.” I could go on with this analogy, but I’m sure you get the point…

So yeah, tonight is the anniversary of the fall that has stolen my independence and forever changed who I am.

Leave a Reply

